Many Today, battle with sins, forgiveness of sins and repentance from sins. It’s funny to me now because I was also once in these shoes, but I thank God for the light of the glorious gospel which has shined on me and re-directed my course! 

Sins are Primarily against God. I usually say this, ‘ what do you want to do that would make God forgive you’ ? 

Is there anything so awesome that you’ll do and God will be like ‘ wow! No one has ever done this, you really deserve my forgiveness’

Well I doubt that, because scriptures says our works are like filthy rags before him

Eph 1: 9 says ” Not of works lest any man should boast” talking about salvation here. 

But let’s examine the subject of forgiveness. 

Ephesians 1:7 In whom we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of his grace

Ephesians 4:32 And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

Colossians 1:14 In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins

1john 2:12 I write unto you, little children, because your sins are forgiven you for his name’s sake.


Let me assume that many of us reading this are Learned. What does it mean to ‘have something?’ 

Do you ask for what you already have? Like I always ask some of my folks when I’m discussing this, if I give you my iPhone5 now, that means you have it right?, if I now come around tomorrow and the next and you keep asking me for that same iPhone 5 does it not mean something is wrong with you or you simply don’t acknowledge that what I gave you is an iphone5. 

I hope you’re getting me. 

Nothing that we did or will ever do can make God forgive us. 

God Forgave us eternally because Jesus died, not because we asked. Therefore, we received forgiveness of sins even before we asked! 

That’s the extent of the Father’s love towards us. 

So what do we do when we sin? 

Firstly, you have to know that as a believer the Holy Spirit in us convicts us in our hearts, so when we sin, we actually know! We are not oblivious to this fact. So we consciously repent in our hearts.

Secondly, instead of asking for what you’ve already received( forgiveness) say- Father I thank you because I’ve received Forgiveness of sins. Thank you Jesus.

That’s not living in denial! That’s called acknowledging who you are and what you’ve received in Christ. 

I hope this blesses you. 

Lemme know your thoughts and questions in the comment box 
For more understanding of this subject: 

visit http://www.livingwordmedia.org and download ” Forgiveness of sins and repentance from sins” 
I call you blessed. 

